“Living in the Real World” – Give Me A Fucking Break!

I need a huge rant – this is gonna be long!

So I have this friend (supposedly my best friend?) who I’m going on holiday with (or I was) But then today I ask if I can pick up her part of the hotel money – I paid the initial outlay and we agreed that today she would give me her share. And it all went wrong from there, she didn’t have the money, She arranged another day I said fair enough and explained that I couldn’t continue to operate this way. Money was tight for me too, if we make a plan we have to stick to it. You’d think she could understand that but no.

Now she doesn’t want to go at all! That’s another argument right there, very childish and stubborn!

Here’s the thing we’ve known for two months that we’re going on holiday and we have less than 5 weeks til out holiday! It was bloody important to get a hotel and already had to pay more due to booking so late (it’s also non refundable so I’m set to lose £200)

So the reason she hasn’t got the money is because she works part time (minimum of 16 hours a week but I know she’s being doing almost double that for a few weeks to earn extra for the holiday?) She has no bills, NO BILLS!
She lives at home and doesn’t contribute anything. Her money is all hers, the only thing she has to spend on is her pay as you go mobile, the rest of her money is to do with as she pleases. So what has she been doing with this money, putting some aside for her holiday? investing it? no.
She spent £70 on her new boyfriends birthday (they had been together for 1 month, and have known each other about a month and a half) Ridiculous!!!!
What else did she do with that money, lent some to her new boyfriend, who tells her she needs to live in the real world, cos it’s tough and there are bills to pay and you can’t just go to work and come home and sleep (ok so he has a point there I guess) and she can’t rely on her parents for the rest of her life, he’s been living on his own since he was 17, sorry what was that? her boyfriend had to borrow £50 of her? Sorry what’s that, her boyfriend spends money every week on drugs? Yeah he’s wonderful! *heavy sarcasm*
Well that was a couple weeks wages.

She’s mostly been spending her money on food “I buy my own food now, I’m not relying on mummy and daddy, I’m living in the real world” her words!
FUCKING WHAT?!

So she works 16 hours minimum a week at minimum wage that is equivalent to £98 a week.
So you’re telling me you spend £98 on food & phone credit, well fuck me I must be living in the wrong real world! If I spent that much a week on food and phone I would be living in a cardboard box to be able to afford it!

How dare someone say to me they live in the real world and are broke because they are spunking their on shit!!
That is not the real world!!!!
The real world, is spending all your money on bills, council tax, rent, water, gas, electric, car insurance, petrol, car finance, car repairs, tv licence, phone line, and then hoping you’ve got enough left over to get enough food to last the month and usually thinking, how many days can I live on beans?

The real world is her boyfriends words! and it’s not “the real world” the world is real no matter how your fucking living in it you stupid twat! It’s simply having more commitments and responsibilities and having those doesn’t make you any fucking better than someone who is lucky, yes LUCKY, enough to not have commitments, responsibilities, worries and stress!

“living in the real world” – spending all your wages on food, which is really just spending your money on yourself, is not living in the real world.
The real world, or a life where you have responsibilities is wondering how you’re going to cover this months bills, and if you’ll ever get out of living in your overdraft, and will this be the month I default on my car payment and have it repossessed, and will me and my dad get kicked out of our house because the government is implementing a tax on spare bedrooms that I now have to pay for, despite this being our home, and the last home we shared with my mum,

And “the real world” is not just about money, infact it’s far fucking from it. It’s laying awake at night worrying about countless things, It’s driving home at late at night on your own thinking when will be the day I come home to find my dad is gone… because he won’t live forever and I’ll be the one that finds him!
and what will I do then, where will I live when the housing association tell me to move out, and what will I do when I lose my job because I’m a wreck because I’ve lost the last person in my life who truly loves me, that’s “the real world” and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone – if I had my choice, I wouldn’t worry bout any of those things, I would take the existence of not having to worry about bills, of going to work and knowing all the money I earn can just be spent on shit, not worrying about my father, not having to tell him to go to the doctors when he’s got a chest infection. To have my mum here. some people have it so much easier, and you know what, even though I’d rather your existence, because it’s bloody easier. I would never change who I am, because atleast I’m a person who would not shit on her friends for anyone, especially a guy who I’d known for a few months, who’s morals weren’t exactly impressive.
And I will never let a man put words in my mouth, or change my opinion.

Damn this is only the tip of the iceberg of some of the shit that’s gone down in the last couple of months.

And you know what? I’M FUCKING DONE!

I will no longer help people out, I am not your taxi, I am not your bank, I am not your psychiatrist, I am a person who deserves to be treated the way I treat others, and that’s fucking good!

So thanks for ruining my first real holiday, technically my second holiday (my first being a long weekend in a caravan in Caister, 2 hours drive from where I live, it was lovely, I was 5, I’m now 27, still not been on holiday, never stayed in a hotel!)

So yeah, I’m done being so nice to everyone! from now on people are gonna have to earn it!

I ranted too much and lost my point.

oh right yeah “living in the real world” – if I ever hear that saying again I will punch the mouth it’s coming out of!

Leave a Reply

