Where are you Christmas? Why can’t I find you?

Christmas was always one of my favourite times of the year.
I’ve always loved thinking about and finding the perfect present for my loved ones.
It’s not how I show them love, because I do that all year, but I guess it’s a way of saying you’re important to me and I want you to have the things you want, even if it may be something seemingly trivial.

So Christmas is about family, friends, the important people at life. It’s that time of the year when people stop living their busy lives and reconnect with what’s important.

But Christmas is lost for me.

I will spend a few weeks excitedly prepping for Christmas, thinking about all the happy things, and then a few weeks before Christmas I’m suddenly hit with a sombre mood.

Christmas is lonely.

Since losing my Mum, Christmas has lost its magic. Now that my family is fractured and fallen apart, Christmas is empty.

For the most part it’s me and my Dad, and whilst I try my hardest to appreciate the day and time with him, I can’t help but see a glimpse of the future. When my Dad is no longer here and its just me.

The magic of Christmas is the innocence or childhood and the love of family, and as you grow older Christmas really only maintains its magic with the love of family, when that’s no longer there, Christmas is lost.

So this Christmas, I will smile and laugh, I will give presents and have a marvellous meal. And I will spend precious time with my Dad.
But inside I will feel the loneliness engulfing the fleeting happiness.
And though I’m not religious, I will pray that the lonely people out there are not forgotten, that for even just one hour this Christmas, someone takes the time to show them compassion and love.

If you know someone who will be lonely this Christmas, please visit them, phone them, send them a letter, let them know they’re not completely alone.
And if you can do that at Christmas, maybe you can make your New Year’s resolution for 2015 to be to help that person feel less lonely the whole year through.

3 thoughts on “Where are you Christmas? Why can’t I find you?

Leave a Reply

